OCCSW Okaloosa County Commission on the Status of Women

1995 Okaloosa County Women's Hall of Fame Honorees

Dr. Fanny Fern Davis - Pioneer Award

Dr. Fanny Fern Davis - Responsible for planning the biology department at Okaloosa Walton Community College. She was a Ph.D. in plant physiology, planning and chairing the Biology Department at OWCC; given numerous awards for early research on "friendly" herbicides for use on turf grasses (benefiting golf courses); elected to Florida's Silver-Haired Legislature; became an expert on Northwest Florida’s native plants; and wrote a series of books on Florida’s plant life. Pioneer Inductee, inducted posthumously in 1995.

Clair Eken - Pioneer Award

Clair Eken - She was a suffragist, working to help women win the right to vote. She marched and petitioned legislators in support of the 19th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution, worked for 50 years for the League of Women Voters. Pioneer Inductee, inducted posthumously in 1995.

Liza Jackson - Pioneer Award

Liza Jackson - She was a leader in the Woman’s Club effort to provide prenatal care and helped begin a free medical clinic; was the first woman to serve on the Fort Walton Beach City Council and was the City's Woman of the Year in 1955. She was President Emeritus of the Public Library and has a City park named in her honor. Pioneer Inductee, inducted posthumously in 1995.

Gertrude L'Abbe - Pioneer Award

Gertrude L'Abbe - She worked for 50 years with the Okaloosa County Extension Homemakers Council; was a leader in 4-H and founded its camp that became Camp Timpoochee; was President of the Progressive Homemakers Club teaching canning, rug and mattress making in the early days to women in isolated parts of the County; and served as Treasurer of the County Council. Pioneer inductee, inducted posthumously in 1995.

Addie R. Lewis - Pioneer Award

Addie R. Lewis - She was a dedicated educator teaching in Okaloosa County schools for 42 years from 1931-73. She served as Assistant Supervisor of Okaloosa County Public Schools and conducted a study and wrote the brief for the Governor to establish Okaloosa Walton Junior College in 1963. She served on the Valparaiso City Council and has a school named in her honor. Pioneer inductee in 1995.

Ruth Lovejoy - Contemporary Award

Ruth Lovejoy - Was the first Contemporary Inductee in 1995. She has been the executive director of Elder Services (formerly the Council on Aging) since 1977. Services include Meals on Wheels and Coordinated Transportation. She also is credited with creating the Twin Cities Pavilion and Crestview Manor.

Sarah Frances Brooks Pryor - Pioneer Award

Sarah Frances Brooks Pryor –The first female child born in what would be called Fort Walton Beach. She was the first woman Postmaster from 1918-43. She founded the Woman's Club for improvements such as roadside beautification and was Fort Walton Beach's Woman of the Year. "Aunt Frances" preserved and donated the Indian Temple Mound to the city. At the time of her death at 95, she was the oldest pioneer. Inducted posthumously in 1995. Also inducted into the Florida Hall of Fame.

1995 Honorees

Dr. Fanny Fern Davis
Pioneer Award

Clair Eken
Pioneer Award

Liza Jackson
Pioneer Award

Gertrude L'Abbe
Pioneer Award

Addie R. Lewis
Pioneer Award

Ruth Lovejoy
Contemporary Award

Sarah Frances Brooks Pryor
Pioneer Award

Destin Florida Charter Fishing