OCCSW Okaloosa County Commission on the Status of Women

2002 Okaloosa County Women's Hall of Fame Honorees

Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Kate Bagley - Posthumously Award

Kate Bagley (1914-1994) who moved to Fort Walton Beach in 1961 was the owner of this area's first McDonald's restaurant franchise and was also the first woman to own a McDonald's franchise. She then went on to open four others and was a "hands on" owner, who donated time and money for local charities and schools. In 1981, she became the first woman mayor of Fort Walton Beach. Kate was president of the YMCA and on the board of directors for the Eglin Armament Museum She died in 1994 and was inducted posthumously in 2002.

Dr. Diane Barlar - Contemporary Award

Dr. Dianne Barlar, who is the director of the University of West Florida’s (UWF) Fort Walton Beach Campus and Extension Credit Instruction. She served as President of the Greater Fort Walton Beach Chamber of Commerce in 2001 where she excelled with membership, Armed Forces Appreciation and much more. Some of the organizations in which she takes an active part include the Workforce Development Board and FWB Senior Center for Lifelong Learning. 2002 Contemporary Inductee.

Agnes Catherine Gerlach - Pioneer Award

Agnes Catherine Gerlach (1884-1974) was a pioneer inductee. She came to Fort Walton Beach in 1913, when the area was known as Camp Walton. Through the efforts of Gerlach and her family, St. Mary's Catholic Church and School were formed. Because of her musical talent, she assumed the responsibility for the music at the church and bought the first organ, which had to be operated with a foot pump. Her other activities included the formation of a garden club and the Camp Walton Woman's Club, which was established to "do everything" - start a health clinic, eradicate mosquitoes, keep cattle out of the streets, found a library and bring culture to the area. She organized health care and established a clinic in Fort Walton Beach. "Aunt D'Aggie" as she was known, founded Staff’s Restaurant with her brother-in-law and was the manager of his Gulfview Hotel for many years.

Donna Kelly - Humanitarian Award

Donna Kelly - Carolyn Spencer Humanitarian Award in 2002. She has brought dedication and professionalism to her volunteer calling. A successful businesswoman yet gives of herself freely to Shelter House, the Bridgeway Center, the Abuse Response Team and the Sexual Trauma Team. Much of her volunteerism involves responding to calls at all hours of the day and night. She recently founded the Community Task Force Against Incest and Molestation (AIM). Her financial generosity is known to many organizations assisting victims.

Mattie Mae Kelly - Cultural Arts Award

Mattie Mae Kelly (1912-1992) She was an educator, author and community leader. Her passion for the arts, education and recreation is evident through Okaloosa-Walton Community College and the Mattie Kelly Arts Foundation. Cultural Arts Award, inductee in 2002.

2002 Honorees

Kate Bagley
Posthumously Award

Dr. Diane Barlar
Contemporary Award

Agnes Catherine Gerlach
Pioneer Award

Donna Kelly
Humanitarian Award

Mattie Mae Kelly
Cultural Arts Award

Destin Florida Charter Fishing