OCCSW Okaloosa County Commission on the Status of Women

2004 Okaloosa County Women's Hall of Fame Honorees

Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Eileen Arpke - Education Award

Eileen Arpke was an inductee in the field of education. Her contributions to education cover a wide range of experience and service from that of a classroom teacher at Ruckel Middle School to a member of the Board of Trustees with Okaloosa-Walton Community College. She currently serves as a member of the Institute of Senior Professionals with the College. She is known for her organizational skills and has been a strong, highly motivating proponent of learning and justice in every endeavor.

Lillian Rose Brodeur - Cultural Arts Award

Lillian Rose Brodeur – recipient of The Mattie Kelly Cultural Arts Award. At the age of 83, she creates the fragile and exquisite shell mosaics known as Sailor’s Valentines. She is a true artist who educates with her creations, sharing her love of the beauty of shells in mosaic arts with young and old alike.

Annette Edwins - Posthumously Award

Annette P. Edwins (1906-1988) — Inducted posthumously. Edwins was the first woman to serve as principal of a school in Okaloosa County and the first to have a school named in her honor. This honor was given to her because of her exemplary service to education, her many years of devotion to the children of Okaloosa County and the considerable contributions she made to the improvement of educational resources in Okaloosa County.

Rachel Godwin - Humanitarian Award

Rachel Godwin, volunteered for ten years working with Aids patients through the OASIS organization and served in the Prison Ministry program at Eglin Federal Prison for 25 years. A special project she adopted was that of collecting "footies" left behind by patients in a surgical center and after washing them, donating them to local non-profit organizations, as well as Romania, Brazil and most recently to a Mercy ship going to Africa. Her day job is teaching Sign Language at Silver Sands School and at night she teaches evening classes for community Education. The Carolyn Spencer Humanitarian Award.

Jeanette Henderson - Pioneer Award

Jeanette Henderson was recognized as a pioneer inductee. She arrived in Okaloosa County in 1933 and has preserved, collected and recorded the history of Okaloosa County, especially that of the north end of the county. She is a founding member of the North Okaloosa Historical Association and is currently the curator for the Baker Block Museum. She is a member of the Muskogee Indian tribe and served for three years as chief of the Jackson clan and sat on the Muskogee tribal council.

Pat Hollarn - Contemporary Award

Pat Hollarn - contemporary inductee who is best known as the Okaloosa County Supervisor of Elections, but Hollarn has served her community in a variety of ways. Civic and community activities include many board memberships, committee positions and offices in organizations such as Chambers of Commerce, The Bridgeway Center, The North Okaloosa American Cancer Society and The Sons of Italy. Her exemplary accomplishments in her profession and community serve as a model of service for women in every walk of life.

2004 Honorees

Eileen Arpke
Education Award

Lillian Rose Brodeur
Mattie Kelly Cultural Arts Award

Annette Edwins

Rachel Godwin
Humanitarian Award

Jeanette Henderson
Pioneer Award

Pat Hollarn
Contemporary Award

2004 Nominees

Christine Aufderheide-Fossum

Diane Conroy

Mary Cox

Yvonne Freeman

Frances Jennings

Susan Kneller

Peggy May

Christina Ruckel

Loretta Scheffer

Otto Lee Zachow

Destin Florida Charter Fishing