OCCSW Okaloosa County Commission on the Status of Women

2008 Okaloosa County Women's Hall of Fame Honorees

Nellie Bogar - Humanitarian Award

Nellie Bogar was presented with the Carolyn Spencer Humanitarian Award. Nellie Bogar, who has devoted her professional life to helping children, educationally and spiritually. Her service goes beyond her role as founder and Executive Director of Youth Village, an after-school program and summer camp. She stands out as a caring, involved community leader concerned with the welfare of children in her work with Striving for Perfection ministry, Wright Elementary, the Okaloosa Arts Alliance, and Children in Crisis. She also participates in the Academic Excellence Society, a community group collaborating with the Okaloosa County School District to bridge the achievement gap among minority children. She makes a difference to the benefit of our community.

Champee Kemp - Educators Award

Champee Kemp has received the Educators Award. Champee Kemp taught mathematics in Okaloosa Schools for 30 years before her retirement and continues to be a highly visible and strong advocate for public education and women in her many volunteer activities. For six years she served as Okaloosa County Education Association President and then as OCEA Political Action Chairperson for over 15 years. Her political activity included serving on the Florida Education Association-National Educational Association Legislative Committee for over 30 years and as its Chairperson. Other organizations for which she volunteers include the Emerald Coast Junior League, Alpha Delta Kappa International Honorary Sorority for Women Educators, and the Fort Walton Beach Jaycee Auxiliary.

Linda Powell Parker - Contemporary Award

Linda Powell Parker was the contemporary inductee this year. Linda Powell Parker, who is an active member and leader of the community. Linda Powell Parker has served the community of Crestview in many capacities, and since 1999 as an elected official on the Crestview City Council. Her dedication and leadership are exemplified in her record of achievements, such as establishing a new library, a children's park, and the city historic district in Crestview. She served as a charter member of the Board of Directors for the Okaloosa County Schools Foundation and the Main Street Crestview Association and is a member of the Crestview Area Chamber of Commerce, Okaloosa County Economic Development Council, and Florida League of Cities.

2008 Honorees

Nellie Bogar
Humanitarian Award

Champee Kemp
Educators Award

Linda Powell Parker
Contemporary Award

2008 Nominees

Elsie Garrett

Mitzi Henley

Mary O’Daniels

Joyce Sanders

Joyce Shanahan

Destin Florida Charter Fishing