OCCSW Okaloosa County Commission on the Status of Women

2010 Okaloosa County Women's Hall of Fame Honorees

Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Doris Day

Doris Day - Contemporary Award

Doris Day is a business woman, inspirational speaker and tireless volunteer. She has been an officer in the Officer’s Wives Club and active in the Florida Federation of Women’s Clubs since 1981. As Legislative and Public Policy Chairman of FFWC, she fought for equal pay for women and better treatment for breast cancer patients. In 2008, she received the Florida Federation of Women’s Clubs’ top award for International Affairs for New Businesses. She was a member and officer of the American Business Women’s Association from 1981-2009. She received the ABWA Patsy Sears Memorial Award in 2001, was named Woman of the year in 1998, and Top Ten Women of the Year in 1996. She is presently a board member for Covenant Hospice.

Karen Lauer

Karen Lauer - Community Service Award

Karen Lauer holds a Master’s degree in counseling, and a second Master’s degree in Education. As a current Vice-President and fundraising chair for Shelter House, Inc., she works to increase awareness and understanding of domestic violence. Karen served as President of Democratic Women’s Club 2008-2009. Under her leadership, the DWC grew to become the largest in the Panhandle leading to the establishment of a permanent Democratic Headquarters in Okaloosa County and founding of the Okaloosa Democrats Board. In 2009, she was elected to serve as Vice-President of Region II of the Democratic Women’s Club of Florida.Karen is an active member of the Unitarian Universalist (UU) Fellowship of the Emerald Coast.

Marth Miller

Martha Miller - Business Woman Award

Martha Miller is the City President for Coastal Bank and Trust. Her list of community service over the past 20 years includes 2006 President of the Niceville Chamber, President of the Heritage Museum Board, United Way volunteer, American Cancer Society Chairperson, and a member of the Niceville Planning Commission. In 2006, she was selected as the 33rd Operations Support Squadron Honorary Commander. She currently serves as a member of the Executive Board for the Workforce Development Board of Okaloosa and Walton Counties, the United Way Board and the Synovus Financial Corp Strategic Planning Committee. She has been awarded Leader of the year multiple times within her own company.

2010 Honorees

Doris Day
Contemporary Award

Karen Lauer
Community Service Award

Martha Miller
Business Woman Award

2010 Nominees

Marie Harrison

Michelle Wright

Destin Florida Charter Fishing